Home > Uncategorized > Memoirs of a Geisha

Memoirs of a Geisha

I am sure many have read this book and many more have seen the movie, but I only recently chanced upon the book in the library. I saw the movie, say about 2-3months back and it didn’t leave much of a lasting impression…though it did for a small time. But the book in itself, which I just finished reading has left such an impression, that I am sure that I won’t forget about it for a very long time.

Nitta Sayuri, the central character of this book, tells the story as she sees it. The characters though fictional, feel very real. It may have to do with how the author begins the story that may have created that illusion, but the characters come alive in his vivid description and story telling. He goes into such beautiful description about each and every thing…explaining elaborately the various aspects of a geisha’s life. When Sayuri, tells the Chairman in the end, that the only aim in her life after having met him for the very first time in her life, was for her destiny to be interwined with his and him, the novel becomes a classic love story.

Though the book was lovely to read, it did leave a melancholy feeling or rather has left me anxious…for reasons unknown to me. I guess I was far too involved in the reading of the book. After reading the book, I feel that the movie has captured only about 75% of the books real flavor yet at the time, I watched it I was so very moved by it. I mean to say that the author has a wonderful way of spell binding his readers, in the way he writes, drawing us deep into the contents and unconsiously making us see the events, just as one would have been a part of it and not just reading about it. And this is his very first literary work! I am amazed.

Nitta Sayuri will remain in my memory forever and for that I think, I am going to get my own copy of the book. It has been a very long time, since a book has affected me this largerly and I think the last book that I loved so much was “To Kill a Mockingbird”.

If you haven’t read the book, go grab a copy and read it…I am sure, you will love it or even turn teary eyed, just as I am. I can’t wait for the husband to come home, so I can download it upon him too….I mean what I feel. He doesn’t read books.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. Shavonne
    05/25/2009 at 9:05 pm

    I agree with you – the movie was good but nothing out of the ordinary but I felt absolutely blown away by the book. It brought me to tears numerous times (even while I was reading it on the bus) and has left a lasting impression in my thinking. I honestly think it should be a mandatory read for school children. I read it over a year ago but just recently started re-listening to it as an audio book (I found it on http://www.audiobooks.net) and have been feeling its riveting power once again. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  2. balashobi
    05/26/2009 at 5:26 pm

    Thanks for visiting the page and it does sound like a great idea to make it a mandatory reading for school children. I haven’t tried audio books at all, maybe I will soon.

  3. Dottie
    05/26/2009 at 6:22 pm

    I saw the movie.. which was strictly ok. Did not read the book! I like your new look here 🙂

  4. Shobana
    05/26/2009 at 11:19 pm

    Thanks! Read the book…it is a whole new experience!

  5. 05/27/2009 at 5:46 am

    Haven’t read the book yet. I guess it is fantastic book by reading your post. True, the movies generally don’t give full credits to what is written in the books because of the different medium. I am nothing like reading a book in your solitude and enjoy it.

    If you have not read, I suggest you to read “A Thousands splendid Suns” by Khalid Hosseni. Author of another great book “Kite Runner” which was later made into a movie.

    • Shobana
      05/28/2009 at 1:23 am

      Thanks Madhavan! I will read those books…I have seen them on the bookshelves and for some reason, skip it. Will try it! In the meantime, you try reading this book too…it is amazing!

  6. babiesanon
    05/28/2009 at 7:18 am

    Oh I loved loved the book as well. Have not watched the movie but just loved the book.

    May I recommend Horse Whisperer to you? Just finished reading it and it was awesome!

    • Shobana
      05/29/2009 at 6:21 pm

      Thanks! I definetly will get a copy of the book and read it. Wow…lots of people are sending book choices…neat!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

