Home > Uncategorized > Cart – flicking!!

Cart – flicking!!

So this morning I was at Target to pick up a couple of sleepwear for the boy, since he has grown out of his old ones. Yoohoo! I never thought I would say that, what with the rate at which he was growing. A millimeter a year…both horizontally and vertically, whereas me, I was growing in leaps and bounds horizontally. Ok! since we aren’t talking about me, lets get back on track. As I was saying, I was shopping at Target. For night clothes. For the boy. And then, some nice summer stuff…tees and shorts. Some cool stuff actually. Did you know, that the Target in my neighborhood runs out of boy stuff pretty soon, and their reasoning is that there are a lot of little boys…though I see a lot of girls in the ‘hood. Anyways, so I had this cart full of some great things, for the boy and some random stuff. Can one really come out of Target, with just the things they want? Really?

And then, I stopped for a minute at the ready to wear stuff for women. Really I was just there for say 2-3 mins, when I turned to check if my cart is still around, and what do you think? It was GONE! GONE! Like, GONE! Annoying. So I asked a store clerk who was near by and she offered to walk around the store, to look for it. And she did for a good 20mins and I looked in another direction. And it was no where to be found. Can you believe that? I mean, it is clothes…you could really just walk to the aisle and pick them out. Not rocket science. And it is not like Target is doing a closing out sale.

So, I walked the entire store and came back to where we started and in that exact same location, I found an empty cart. Guest service and restocking departments were called via the walkie talkie and checked with…zilch. No cart with toddler stuff turned up. I was/am pissed…I spent a good 1hr picking out those things…and when one shop’s, it is also very personal…I mean, there I was, standing with a smile on my face, each time, I found a cute piece, mentally dressing the boy in it and admiring him. So it becomes very personal right? And now, someone walked away with all my stuff. Cheap!

If that someone liked my choice in clothes, then they could enlisted my help and I would have done it gladly..and free of charge too. Now that I think about it, maybe I should contact stores and apply for a personal shopper position. At least I will get paid and not end up feeling annoyed. After all that searching, I just rolled another cart and went and re-shopped. But it is not the same, isn’t?

My question to the person, who could have “accidentally” rolled my cart away…do you not check the cart or not even look into it and realize that those are not yours? Since there was another cart standing at the exact same location as where I had left it, I am assuming that another guest rolled it away. Note the big difference….mine was filled with clothes, gift bags (they were on sale), some other random stuff…and yours was, EMPTY! Nothing in it! How could you have mistaken the carts? How????? Darn it.

You might ask, why it is such a big deal, if I had re-shopped. Well, for one, Naren is a teeny tiny thing and to come across clothes that are cute and fits well, is kind of difficult. And I couldn’t find a cute short that I had initially taken…there was just that one piece on the the shelf, in that particular size and now, I came home, without that. I could console myself saying,I saved about $10, by not buying it. But I loved that short, the minute I saw it. Moving on…I spent an hour of my morning shopping, and for some one to roll it away just like that…is ANNOYING and FRUSTRATING!

A great start to the weekend, eh? But the husband promised to accompany me to Target this weekend, since we need to shop for some baby clothes, for children of some friends and relatives. Did I tell you that my bro and his wife are expecting their second child? No? They are. And some stuff need to bought for the child and not to forget the first born too.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. 05/29/2009 at 9:32 pm

    that is cheap! totally empathize w you, esp after you spent so much time picking thngs out.

    • Shobana
      05/29/2009 at 10:40 pm

      Thanks!

  2. 06/01/2009 at 10:07 pm

    heh, sorry, I know it must be frustrating, but mistakes genuinely happen too. I’ve been on both sides of the situation and fortunately the situation was recovered quickly 🙂

    • Shobana
      06/02/2009 at 4:38 pm

      I do understand that mistakes happen…just frustrating no?

  3. 06/03/2009 at 5:37 am

    that can be so frustrating

  4. 06/03/2009 at 12:46 pm

    I could understand.

    Congrats to your bro!! and to your too for second time aunty!!

  5. 06/15/2009 at 2:29 am

    OMG!!that’s so cheap..and scary.(for me) I always,always leave my handbag and sometimes,Pipette in the cart!!
    BTW,congrats to your brother..and bhabhi..and you too:)

    • Shobana
      06/16/2009 at 6:04 pm

      I too do that…leave the bag in the car that is. Only that day, sub consiously I picked it up and strolled around. Can’t imagine what I would have done, if some one had rolled the cart away with teh bag in it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

