Home > Uncategorized > Of balls and….er, read on.

Of balls and….er, read on.

Last evening, I was cooking, while the boy was playing, stopping from time to time, to say something to me. Most of the talk centered around Thomas and friends (that in itself requires a separate post), and I as usual was tuning that particular topic out, ‘coz we hear a lot….I mean a LOT of Thomas this and Thomas that. As I was saying, I was tuning him out and concentrating on the potatoes, which if not continuously monitored, I will allow it turn to ash. He was saying something and because of my stupidity, it sort of went out of bounds. Here is the conversation:

N  : “Amma, ennoda breast kutti kutti ah irrukku”  (My breasts are small)

Me: “Hmmm” (First mistake….I didn’t listen).

Silence for a couple of minutes…the boy rolled away in his motor powered bike.

N: ” Amma…..I love you”.

Me: “Me too baby”

N: “Amma….Thomas breast enga?” (Where is Thomas’s breasts?)

Me: (Still stirring the potato) “Anga thaan irrukkum…poi paaru” (second mistake…I still wasn’t listening) (It should be there…go check)

N : “Ok”

Yet another couple of minutes pass by in silence and I was checking on the sambar.

N: “Amma….unga breast big ah big ah ball mathiri irrukku” (Your breasts look like big balls).

Me: (Mind on a lot of things, suddenly realized what he is talking about and screeches to a halt) “Ennathu? Enna pesara? Amma pathi antha marthiri pesa koodathu…ok?” (What? What are you talking about? You can’t talk this way about Amma).

N: “Ok Amma…sorry.” Without missing a beat, he says this:

“Miss H kku small ball ball mathiri breast irrukku” (Miss H, has small breasts)

Me: “Naren…will you stop that nonsense and go away. Miss H pathi antha mathiri ellam pesa koodathu. Actually, yaarayum pathi antha mathiri pesa koodathu”. (Naren, you can’t talk that way about Miss H or anyone else for that matter).

When I reported this incident to the husband later that evening, he actually  was rolling with laughter and then claimed it was a guy thing (whatever dude) and that it is just the beginning of this obsession and that I should learn to handle this with much more grace. But for me, what came to mind was this,

” Murugaaa! Kali muthidichu da” in MSV’s voice in Kaadala Kaadala. (Lord Muruga! What is the world coming to?)

PS: Should I worry much about this or just treat it as some baby banter? What should I do people? What would you have done?

  1. 06/16/2009 at 8:24 pm

    ROFL!!!!
    li’l baby Nayen is all grown up!
    LOL!

    • Shobana
      06/16/2009 at 11:59 pm

      Not so soon Kodi’s mom, not so soon! If this is just the beginning, I shudder to think what will happen in the teen years. **GULP**

  2. 06/17/2009 at 1:24 am

    Just few minutes ago my daughter asked me why do I always wear bra:-0

    • Shobana
      06/18/2009 at 1:41 am

      What’s with these kids and their curiosity???

  3. 06/17/2009 at 8:07 am

    LOL!!That was funny Shobana – particularly the first half when you weren’t listening properly and said ‘anga dhaan irukkum poi paaru” I was ROTFL. On a serious note, I think this is normal part of growing up. This is the stage when kids become aware of their bodies and are curious about the differences in anatomy, so don’t worry much.

    • Shobana
      06/18/2009 at 1:44 am

      Thanks for reassuring MNIamma! I really was freaked out the whole evening. Even then I am thinking, he could have picked a different part of the body to talk about differences in sizes.

      I hope the kids are keeping u busy, which is why u are away for a long time from posting???

  4. Poppy
    06/18/2009 at 5:03 am

    Oh Man!

    Well atleast now you know he knows his shapes and sizes down to a pat 😀

    • Shobana
      06/18/2009 at 4:57 pm

      Yes, yes…but I didn’t need to know it, this way, did I?

  5. JLT
    06/18/2009 at 7:16 am

    ROFL! At least he asked you and not Ms. H 😀

    Had lost your blog, now see that you too have lost it??!! anyway, back again. 🙂

    • Shobana
      06/18/2009 at 4:57 pm

      Oh man! I don’t even want to think, what her reaction would have been! Good to have u back!

  6. Saranya
    06/20/2009 at 4:24 am

    Hi,
    Very nice to see ur comment in my blog. We are doing good. I am totally shocked! Is kutti Naren talking this much?? 🙂
    I will call u soon…take care

    • Shobana
      06/22/2009 at 9:30 pm

      I don’t know where all this came from…that was one episode and I hope it is the last. I think it was more a curiosity as part of growing up. He looked so darn innocent when he asked…then again, he doesn’t really say breast..he has his own name for it. Sure do call.

  7. 07/06/2009 at 3:34 pm

    LOL!! What is it with kids these days?I can totally imagine your shocked look!!
    BTW,the toilet training post is up.

  8. 07/09/2009 at 5:08 pm

    ROTFL!

  9. kowsalya
    07/16/2009 at 5:21 am

    I could understand what you mean. The other day my daughter asked when will hers grow as big as mine 😉

    But the post was hilarious.. imagine me laughing in the office and everyone asking me what was funny.. I couldn’t share the joke though 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

