Home > Uncategorized > Memories from the ’80s

Memories from the ’80s

Recently my brother took a trip to India with his little daughter and brought back one very beautiful memory with him. It is a picture of a picture from the ’80s with all of us kids and our mom, taken in the most favorite place on earth…the house that we lived in, until I was about 10yrs. Though I don’t remember my early days in it, I do remember some funny incidents and all the fun and play we had in it. Until we moved to the current house my dad still lives in, we did not own a TV and I think those were the most happiest days  I remember as a family. It is very ironic that I associate the TV to the most happiest and most shocking days of my life (more about this later). I always have a smile on my face when I think of that house, though when compared to the current life that I lead, it seems very backward and simple yet very happy. How I miss that house. Anyways, I share the photo with you all.

 

 Childhood memory

Photo info : L-R: Brother, Mom, Elder brother with none other than me as a baby on his lap, Sister.

I thank my brother for this photo and I can’t wait to share it with Naren (with details) when he can understand it. He saw it and refused to believe that it is me…he thinks it is him!!!

  1. 09/17/2009 at 10:35 pm

    You brought back the memories of the days of black n white photos !

    • Shobana
      09/18/2009 at 6:34 am

      There is something very very nostalgic about photos, especially the ones in black and white, isn’t?

  2. 09/18/2009 at 1:53 am

    awwww! thats so cute! am sure it triggered a whole lot of nostalgia and shared memories were talked about! 🙂

    • Shobana
      09/18/2009 at 6:35 am

      It absolutely did Abha! Incidentally, I haven’t talked about it to my brother yet…but it is a very fav photo of all of us, since it is the only one of its kind..with all of us kids in one frame.

  3. Saranya
    09/18/2009 at 7:18 am

    So cute. Can we get a time machine and go back to childhood?
    By the way, I lost my mobile. Please can you send me out your contact details to my email, saran_anu81@yahoo.co.in ?

    • Shobana
      09/18/2009 at 3:25 pm

      I wish for that too Sara! Will do!

  4. 09/18/2009 at 9:50 am

    such a touching post!

    • Shobana
      09/18/2009 at 3:25 pm

      Thanks KM!

  5. CA
    09/18/2009 at 12:36 pm

    Brought back those happy memories of the small house we lived in a small town … best days of my childhood were spent there 🙂

    • Shobana
      09/18/2009 at 9:42 pm

      🙂

  6. 09/23/2009 at 8:30 pm

    Aww. And lol at Naren’s reaction – typical huh? Everything is about them! 🙂

    • 09/24/2009 at 7:01 am

      Everything is about them sounds about right!

  7. 09/30/2009 at 6:07 pm

    awww… S. Such a beautiful picture, something about those black n white, eastman color pix no? I cherish the handful of childhood photos I have.
    LOL at S=Naren. Here D giggles away to glory seeing me that tiny.

    BTW, the photo doesn’t show up here on the blog, I saw it in the reader.

  8. 09/30/2009 at 6:08 pm

    Funny, I can see the photo after the comment got published and the page got refreshed..

  9. Shobana
    10/01/2009 at 7:34 am

    Thanks DDmom. Those B&W pics are like treasures. I don’t think they can ever be replicated, ever!

  10. 10/12/2009 at 4:33 am

    aww such a beautiful pic..
    I am sure,there are so many emotions attached to it.
    Thanks for sharing it:)

  11. 10/12/2009 at 9:20 pm

    Heart warming post Shobana! Thanks for giving us a peek into your childhood days through the photo.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

