Home > Uncategorized > Vanity fair?

Vanity fair?

As we were getting ready for school one dull grey morning, I asked the boy to come brush his teeth. After the usual biggu/alatal, the boy finally did the task with as much paste being ingested rather than brushed with. Then I washed his face which was followed by a shriek, that jolted the bones into their rightful place in the body and chased any lingering sleep/fog in the brain to any where they can go hide.

Me: “Ethukku ippadi katharey?” (Why are you screaming?)

Naren: “Amma, ethukku face wash pannareenga ennakku?” (Amma, why are you washing my face?)

Me: “Enn?”  (Why?)

Naren: “Ennakku face wash panna, naan urrugi poiduven” (If you wash my face then won’t I melt away?)

Me: ***Has a totally stupid look on my face**** “Huh?”

Naren: “Apparom, naan ugly ah irrukamaatena?” (Won’t I then be ugly?) All of his conversations were accompanied by a whine that would have given a violin a run for what it was worth.

I didn’t know how to respond to this, and just force washed the boy’s face and got him ready for school. I still have a stupid look on my face whenever I recall the conversation. Man, vanity surely doesn’t have an age bar, does it????

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

